Graduation Fashion

I’m graduating from law school soon (eek)! My university holds two events: the graduation itself and a semi-formal gala at a museum. Of course, all that my mind could excitedly comprehend was “AHHH NEW DRESS!!” This is what I plan to wear:

Image

Caché dress. Charm & Chain earrings. Signet class ring. OPI liquid sand Honey Ryder.

I am obsessed with those earrings…I actually have been holding onto them for a while and waiting for a special occasion to wear them. I was specifically looking for a dress that would match the earrings. Man, this dress season was tough. The color selection was awful…it was dressing for either an Easter egg hunt or a funeral. My entire closet is filled with little black dresses; I didn’t want another. And me, a pale strawberry blonde, in pastel is just…a trainwreck. Come on, designers! There were also some neutral color and gold gowns, but they were either prohibitively expensive or would have made me look like a human thumb. And there is a new mullet trend in dresses that I really do not appreciate…I want ALL of my dress to either touch the floor or reach my knees. Mullets just need to be left in the 80s.

I finally found this baby that pretty obviously knocks off Giambattista Valli and Armani gowns.(And I did not pay the price of a used car.) Fun side story: Caché arbitrarily cancelled my order because they “ran out of stock,” so I had to phone a list of stores to see if any of them had the dress in store. Anyway, the signet ring is my university’s class ring. I really love signet rings; there’s something really classic and elegant about them. Finally, gold nail polish to top it all off. I’m really loving the OPI liquid sand collection. I’m not usually a fan of sparkly polish, but I think this has a fun edge to it. I have absolutely no idea what shoes to wear…I’ll probably just throw on a pair of old black heels. Hopefully no one will be looking at my feet.

I was planning to wear this to my graduation ceremony:

Image
The best part is I already own everything!

Nine West dress. Thomas Sabo earrings. Glass necklace. Material Girl heels.

Those are not giant pearls…they’re clear glass baubles. That’s not the exact necklace I have, but it’s close enough. I’m torn though…I was also considering this:

Image

Anthropologie dress. Bauble Bar earrings. Le Chateau bracelet. Nine West espadrilles.

I know the shoes/dress are a little matchy-matchy, but I don’t want to buy anything new. It would probably look best with a pair of nude heels. Alas! The only problem I have this dress is the chest area is a bit small. I have that issue with a lot of dresses actually…the waist will fit but the chest will be too small. It’s probably because my rib cage is approximately the size of a baby whale.

I guess I’ll figure it out!

Leave a Reply

