Decorating with Vintage Space Guns

Let me show you my gun collection:

Image
I’m totally prepared for when the aliens attack.

So, I have a small collection of vintage tin lithograph toy space guns from the 1950s and 1960s. I’ve been slowly nabbing the cheaper ones off of ebay. They no longer function, of course, other than making sad little clicking noises when the trigger is pulled. They’re from an interesting variety of places…I have one from India and one from Poland. This is how I have them displayed:

Image
They are hanging above a print of a painting by pop artist Wayne Thiebaud.

I really love the bright, pop art artistry on the guns and how they evoke the 1950’s and 1960’s fascination with space and science. It was the era of sending men to the moon and developing nuclear arms. There’s something really fanciful about brightly painted toys that purport to be atomic laser guns to be used on Mars. They make me nostalgic for a time I never knew.

I discovered them by going to the International Spy Museum in DC. They had one room that was filled with toys from the 1950s, including a large collection of tin litho “G Men” guns and cars:

Image
Source.

I was fascinated, so I looked into them and discovered that they also made space guns. ….Yes, I am the kind of person who goes to a spy museum and walks away most impressed by colorful toys.

2 thoughts on “Decorating with Vintage Space Guns

Leave a Reply

