Making Peace with the Enemy: Knitting

I’m really a crocheter at heart. I “learned” how to knit years and years ago. And I was terrible at it. Truly horrid. We’re talking giant needles and scarves that didn’t advance beyond stockinette stitch in chunky heinous yarns. I didn’t even know how to bind off. Recently, I took up the needles again, determined to not be awful.

scarfwipbg
Work in progress!

My real goal was to learn the fair isle knitting with which I had become mildly obsessed. I bought this book, which I found really helpful. I went through a few different patterns and techniques in that book in order to practice. The first actual pattern that I mastered was:

Image
I call it fishscale. Shhh, it makes sense in my wee little brain.

And then set my eye on fair isle. It was less difficult than I anticipated! So far I’ve been working off patterns found online, but I hope to create my own soon!

My first actual knit work (that I don’t plan to unravel…I’m a serial unraveler) is in the first picture. It is going to be a sampler scarf, with a little bit of everything mixed into one scarf. I think it’s much less boring for me to work on and also allows me to get practice working a bunch of different patterns. Of course, it’s been pushed to the backburner with the holidays coming up…

Anyway, after a long and contentious relationship, I am happy that knitting and I are finally friends.

One thought on “Making Peace with the Enemy: Knitting

Leave a Reply

