Making Vegan Chili

Wow, I actually managed to cook myself a healthy meal. Does this mean I get an “I’m an adult” certificate to hang on the wall?

Image

I’m not vegan (or even vegetarian), but after reading recent articles wherein scientists suggest people get approximately 97 helpings of vegetables a day, I thought it couldn’t hurt to eat more. (Meanwhile my petitions for chocolate to be considered a vegetable go unanswered…)

So, without further ado: here is my recipe for this delicious vegan chili. It is a combination of two different recipes: here and here.

RECIPE:

Prep time: depends how fast you cut vegetables. ( I’m very slow at it.) I’d say maybe 30 minutes?
Cook time: 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low
Makes: approximately 6-8 servings

Ingredients:

3 cloves garlic, minced
2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
2 15 oz cans tomato sauce
2 15 oz cans diced tomatoes
1 16 oz bag brown lentils, rinsed
1 peeled carrot
1 can black beans, drained
1 can kidney beans, drained
1 can whole kernel corn, drained
1 can chickpeas, drained
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 tablespoon dried parsley
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon dried basil
3 tablespoons chili powder
Red pepper flakes (if you like it extra spicy)

Directions:

1. Cut vegetables as directed. Put all the ingredients into the slow cooker and stir well. Cook for 4 hours on high or 6 hours on low.

Image

It’s that simple! Here are all the ingredients mixed together just before cooking. Don’t be concerned if it’s soupy– it will get thicker with cooking. I didn’t really take any other pictures of the process because my cutting of vegetables looks like the work of Michael Meyers from Halloween. In the process of making this, I had to call a friend to ask what a “clove” of garlic is. I know. But this turned out beautifully! If I can do it, so can you!

Here is a good look at all the ingredients mixed together:

Image

Happy cooking!

3 thoughts on “Making Vegan Chili

  1. Ive seen alot of vegan posts, but this one seems to stand out. Looks soo delicious 😀 lentils and chickpeas are my favourite

Leave a Reply

