Adventures in the Botanical Garden

insta20

So I found myself at the United States Botanical Garden this weekend! Sort of by accident. I initially set out to the National Gallery of Art to see an exhibit on marginalia in books (yeah, I am super fun at parties), but when I arrived, I was informed that it was not open on weekends. I would love for someone to explain to me how that makes any sense. I was already at the National Mall, so I decided to go to the Botanical Garden, since I had never been there.

I only had my camera phone with me, so I had to make do. I honestly feel like photographing flowers is a lot like shooting fish in a barrel, but whatever. In celebration of summer, here are some moments in the garden I thought were beautiful:

(Click any picture to make it bigger…they look better with details!)

insta22insta14
A cactus flower and a peony. 

insta17insta5
A monarch butterfly and some kind of…flower (I’m a photographer, not a botanist).

insta8insta6
A happy little bumble bee and some kind of….other plant. 

insta23insta19
The back of a leaf and some prickly plant thing.

insta11insta16
A pretty flower and a honey bee. 

insta15insta26
A rose (finally something I can identify!) and…something else.

insta21insta18
Flowers growing out of the separation between the stones and a little bug on a flower (if anyone knows what this is, let me know!)

insta24insta9
A honey bee going about his business and a leaf with thorns.

insta1insta13
More of the same leaves and the top of some kind of plant.

insta28insta10
Some colorful orchids and the craziest looking leaf I’ve ever seen.

insta12insta4
Colorful flowers.

insta3insta7
More pretty flowers.

I had a lot of fun taking these pictures and was very impressed by the patience of the bees. I had to get very close to take those pictures, and they didn’t mind at all….except for a particularly nosy bumblebee who tried to fly into my phone.

Leave a Reply

