Abstract Christmas Photography Fun!

xmaswater21

I have been having a shameful and ridiculous amount of fun recently taking pictures of my Christmas tree! As you can see above. No, that’s not a color wheel; it’s a Christmas tree! How did I do it?

xmaswater3 xmaswater12

It started when I was drinking water in front of the Christmas tree. I had the empty glass up to my face and realized it created a kaleidoscope effect with the lights. So I put the glass over my camera lens and started taking pictures, experimenting with focus and the distance between the glass and the lens.

The results span from the very abstract (usually achieved by putting the bottom of the glass very close to the lens):

xmaswater28

xmaswater15

xmaswater16

xmaswater24

xmaswater26

xmaswater17

Pulling the glass farther from the lens achieves a color wheel effect:

xmaswater5

xmaswater4

Adjusting the focus so the lens was focused on the bottom of the glass created a different looking type of color wheel:

xmaswater19

xmaswater20

Going less abstract, I also played around with various concepts…

starontree2
Putting the star on the tree…

xmaswater31

 xmaswater32

xmaswater33 

Glowing magical orb! You can see the focal difference between the three as it progresses and the effect it has on the reflections in the glass.

I really liked the magic looking orb concept…

xmaswater29

xmaswater30

Again, playing around with focus and concentrating the bottom of the glass on a green light on the tree this time.

magicorb2

I may or may have not played around with this idea to the point of hand cramps. (I did.)

So if you’re bored and have a water glass and some Christmas (or whatever) lights around, give it a go! It’s a lot of abstract kaleidoscope fun and everyone loves bokeh!

3 thoughts on “Abstract Christmas Photography Fun!

Leave a Reply

