The Legend of Korra Crochet Gloves

korragloves

Wow, it feels like I haven’t completed a crochet project in approximately 5000 years. I’m close to finished on several larger things I’ve been working on, but I took some time in between to make these gloves!

So, I’ve been (obsessively) watching The Legend of Korra. I finished Avatar: The Last Airbender and didn’t know how to go on, but then I discovered that Korra is actually the better show (sorry Avatar fans). I especially love its design and the titular character. I was watching one day and thought “hey, her armband and bracers would make some wicked gloves!”

Korra_The_Legend_of_Korra
Source.

So I set about making them! Given how narrow the triangles are and the constraints of working with yarn, I had my work cut out for me. My first wristband featured fat triangles that were just too big.

firstwrist
Too big!

So I tried again and came up with a better pattern for more slender triangles:

triangle1 triangle2

To the left is the initial part of the triangle and then to the right is the finished triangle with a border of single crochet. It gives it a little bit more substance and makes sewing them together a lot easier.

wristunfinish

Here are all the triangles sewn together but not yet sewn into a circle. I decided to go with a raised blue bauble (instead of just a flat circle) on the white triangles because…well….I liked how it looked better. It gave it that extra razzle dazzle! Once the triangles were all sewn together and joined into a wristband, I crocheted the easy part– the dark blue glove.

Lest anyone think otherwise, the hardest part of this whole endeavor was modeling the gloves. I have a rather heavy DSLR camera and taking one handed pictures with my left hand is easier said than done. And I have photographic proof!

Glove photoshoot outtakes:

outtakeglove2

Nope, I totally missed.

outtakeglove3

Okay, we’re getting closer now.

outtakeglove4

Almost….!

outtakeglove1

Welp, there’s pretty much no excuse for this one.

One thought on “The Legend of Korra Crochet Gloves

Leave a Reply

